Tracy Knight of Knight Marketing Gained Focus with Help From UEP

At first Tracy Knight’s marketing firm was just a great stay-at-home job. “I didn’t want to drop my baby off at day care, so I was a freelance marketer and creative director,” she said.

Now, 15 years later, Knight Marketing has grown into one of the most successful healthcare marketing agencies in Florida. Tracy decided to apply for the Urban Entrepreneur Partnership after she saw an ad in the Biz941 Daily.

“I feel like you can’t ever know too much about running your own business,” Tracy said. “I believe in trusting experts and I thought it was a perfect opportunity to learn how to do things better.”

Something that has surprised Tracy is how the UEP coaches empower her to make her own decisions about the company. “I didn’t know if they were going to come in like consultants often do and give me a plan and tell me what to do,” she said. “Instead, they’re giving me the power to make decisions. It’s not someone coming in and dictating what to do- they’re teaching me how to better run my company.”

Currently, Tracy and the UEP coaches have been looking over her company finances. “I’m a communications person and I started so young. I never had that opportunity to work in another business and see how the financial side worked,” she said. “I’m learning the language of accounting and how to look at my books.”

Like many UEP entrepreneurs, Tracy said that the program has helped give her focus. “I think it’s going to help me set appropriate goals and discipline myself to do the things I need to do to achieve those goals,” she said. “We started with really simple stuff and we’re moving up, it’s a building process.”

This entry was posted in UEP Entrepreneurs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

